Does Technology Affect Happiness & Well Being?

Description: A study from Stanford University, published Wednesday, wrestles with a new question: How is technology affecting their happiness and emotional development?

Source: nytimes .com

Date: Jan 25, 2012

benefits-apps

The research raises as many questions as it seeks to answer, as the scientists readily acknowledge. That is because the research was based on an online survey taken by more than 3,400 girls, a sample that may well not be representative of the larger population and, because the responses are self-reported, are not subject to follow-up or verification by the researchers.

Among the crucial questions that the researchers were not able to answer is whether the heavy use of media was the cause for the relative unhappiness or whether girls who are less happy to begin with are drawn to heavy use of media, in effect retreating to a virtual world.  Read Rest of Story

Questions for discussion:

1. How is technology affecting their happiness and emotional development?

2. Do you have confidence in this studies finding? Why or Why not?

26 thoughts on “Does Technology Affect Happiness & Well Being?

  1. Heather Allan

    Why do we crave technology so much? It has become an integral part of many peoples lives. We have become virtually dependent. If we are so dependent, and derive such pleasure from technology then why do people feel the need to give it up. Is being digitally ‘happy’ as important as real life happy…or is it the same thing? I know that I have downloaded an app called “Self-Control” to block facebook while I have important things to due, such as during exam week. But why do I need to block it? Why can’t I just not go on facebook? The answer is that I am dependant on it. It is part of my everyday routine. I am constantly checking for updates and chatting with friends. It definitely makes me feel good when I am conversing with people, but in the larger picture is it actually diminishing my happiness by taking away from my real world happiness? Technology can identify relationships, connect people to others which ultimately fosters our happiness well-being. Technology has redefined what it manes to be social, but too much technology can also impede our hapiness. We must learn to disconnect. Robin Dunbar says our brains are only able to handle close relationships with 150 people at most. But through technology people are ‘friends’ with hundreds and hundreds of people so it asks the question is technology actually binding those potential 150 close relationships by overpopulating ones ‘friends’. Technology allows people to be a part of a movement without actually moving…there is no long just ‘real life’. I believe that it is not technology that is affecting happiness but rather the way we use it. We must use technology through moderation and purpose, because in the end, it is not technology that will define our happiness but rather it is who we are that determines our happiness.

    “Our way of life has been influenced by the way technology has developed. In future, it seems to me, we ought to try to reverse this and so develop our technology that it meets the needs of the sort of life we wish to lead.”
    -Prince Philip, Men, Machines and Sacred Cows, 1984. (S&S)

    Reply
  2. Cameron Pituley

    I agree whole heartedly with what the study has found. The more time people spend online in a virtual world where you can only read the words of others a whole aspect of communication is lost. In face to face interactions you see facial expressions, hear tone of voice, and even read body language. Without doing these things regularly, social ability decreases and you are not able to learn about them. Tone of voice and body language are something I personally learned from experience. Unless you are online using Skype or Oovoo, it would be very difficult to even gather the correct tone of voice. More often than not, sarcasm is misconstrued online or over text messages. I can see how the lack of social abilities contributes to the emotional development, or in this case lack thereof, regarding younger girls. I agree that this study should be raising different questions in people’s home life. Some of which should be “Do I let my kids spend too much time online?”, “Is my daughter acting socially acceptable at school? Is she lacking friends?” I feel that this study is applicable to young males as well. Sports played a major development in my social development and happiness. I was only ever allowed a certain amount of time on the computer when I was younger and I could almost always spend time with my friends. I think that the social media is very possibly negatively affecting everyone’s happiness despite the ability to connect with anyone anywhere in the world.

    Reply
  3. Liz Martin

    I don’t really put a lot of faith in the study – it lacks too many elements to draw any conclusive findings, so I don’t think we can tell how much the technology is affecting the girls emotional development and happiness. As the article suggested, the study could well have just targeted girls who are already unhappy and as such are drawn to heavy use of media and technology.
    I think it’s a little weird how there wasn’t an analogous study of boys, as I think that all kids experience similar social challenges and pressures on emotional development and happiness as they grow up. I also thought their word selection of ‘girls’ in the following sentence is strange: “The reason, say the researchers, is that on a basic, even primitive level, girls need to experience the full pantheon of communication…”. Don’t all people need to experience this?
    Despite its shortcomings I think the study could still be a very useful starting point, as it brings up a lot of interesting questions and significant correlations that could be pursued with more sound research methods. I think that the article makes it seem like technology restricts young girls from being social beings and engaging and learning with their peers. I disagree, because each technology is different, some allow kids to play games, to learn interactively, and lots allow them to communicate with friends. I do agree that this is not a good substitute for face-to-face communication, as the eighth grader interviewed said in the article that you can miss out on a lot of subtleties of face-to-face communication and that misunderstandings are common. So I think it should be the parents and teachers responsibility to make sure their children experience balanced social interactions.

    Reply
  4. Yaqian Diao

    With the development of the technology, Internet is used all over the world. People can feel Unprecedented ease and happy with Internet. Via the web, people can watch videos, read the news, play the games, and communicate with others and so on. It not only makes people relaxing, but also expands the knowledge. For example, a variety of people enjoy writing their blogs. They can write dairy to pour out their heart, their fears and their woes. They may set up some music which they like. Besides, the people who read the blogs can leave a message to talk to the bloggers. The communications and stories can make people happy and relaxed.
    With some reasons, people spend much more time on surfing Internet. Some people may feel lonely in the real life, so that they want to find something interesting to make them happy. It leads that they spend more and more time on Internet. However, we cannot surf Internet all the time. Even though the Internet can make them happy, it is still an unreal and relatively narrow world. Human are social creature and we love being in a family and friends, which cannot life without others. Thus, Internet is just an assistive tool in our life. As a member in the society, we should spend more time with other people, where we can get “real” happiness. In my opinion, even though a person takes long time on the web to feel happy, he or she will feel much lonelier after turning off the computer.

    Reply
  5. Brad Zhang

    First, I do not agree with the title of this article “Does Technology Affect Happiness & Well Being?” The reason I do not agree is simple. What affects peoples’s happiness and well being is not the technology, is the messages themselves. Let’s assume there is somebody who I love just passed away and I am informed this sad news through text message. It definitely affects my happiness, but if I am informed this tragedy through a regular mail, the result will not be different. I always believe that technology is only a tool that makes people’s lives much easier with more or less side effects. No matter what, the tool is the tool, technology does not affect people’s reaction to information only because the new tools delivery it. So I believe technology does not affect people’s happiness and emotions, just like people can not blame mailman who bring bad news.
    Second, I think myself have a strong control of my own mind and emotion, I will react same to things no matter how I learn or hear the things. Oppositely, I appreciate the convenience that new technologies bring to me so I can get the more information I want sooner and more accurate. The only cause of technologies to people’s happiness I can come up with is if users of the technologies can actually take the amount of information it brings. If users can not deal with the large amount of information that modern communication technologies bring them, they may slow down.

    Reply
  6. James Mahoney

    This article makes a very valid point when it comes to true human interaction being substituted for the online world. The web offers many chances to interact with people in a social environment, but at the same time I believe that an overuse will bring more harm than benefit. I completely agree with the article when it talks about how there is a true need for face-to-face human interaction. In my opinion when young adolescents spend the vast majority of their time on the web there will be consequences in relation to their social lives. The study makes a great point stating that texting can be confusing as a primary method of communication since the actual words spoken only make up 10% of interaction. This article cannot be interpreted as the absolute truth but I agree with everything that is has to say. I strongly believe that people suffer more and more everyday when it comes to having real human interaction because of viral communication. The greatest distraction that exists in our lives is the prescience of technology and it is finally made its way into such basic human elements such as our everyday interaction with other people. Our society has been becoming more and more anti social for the past 50 years and even though the study cannot be taken as 100% credible it does bring a problem that is evident to the surface. More work is needed on the topic but this is a great start.

    Reply
  7. Ahmed Awad

    Technology plays a huge role with person’s happiness. Since happiness is a very subjective concept and it’s really hard to generalize since we are all different. Also technology helps us to connect and communicate with each and has been become a medium for us to consume media. And nowadays we watch movies, listen to music and play games all though a technological devices. We also communicate with people around us using technology weather though an email or smartphones, technology has become a necessity of life for us. This is because it surrounds us and when raised with it, it becomes hard to take away from us. And it would be safe to say that as we use technology we become happier and the lesser we use the acquired we become which will result in unhappiness .So we can see that there is a direct relationship between person’s happiness and the use of technology. However, technology isn’t perfect and has its drawbacks to our well-being. Instead of going out and getting fresh air and meeting friends we can simply chat with them on a screen. Technology if was not used correctly it can have a bad impact on our well-being. It can hurt our eyes, prevent us from going out and lower our human-to-human real interaction. I think people should find a fine balance between technology usages and real life. Because technology is just at the beginning of its advancement it would be really hard to rely fully on it; and if we rely fully on technology it would bring us more harm than good.

    Reply
  8. Tammie Tuccaro

    According to the survey, that the publisher of this article wrote states right in it that it is inconclusive. But according to the article, it does mention that girls seem to be less happy and lack emotional development because they are spending too much time on computers and phones. They are limiting themselves to having that face to face interaction with their peers. They have difficulty identifying body language and the way people react because they are unfamiliar with those types of situations.

    I feel that there are pros and cons in this study. First off, I believe that too much time is wasted on useless games, applications and social media especially in the younger aged girls. They should be “playing” either with dolls, or outside with other kids. This is very rare these days. Being a mother to a nine year old daughter who is very impressionable, I monitor what she is doing on the computer. On the other hand, if taught how to use useful applications and programs then it helps with a person’s everyday life. I also feel that I do have to let her use the computer otherwise like the mom in the article, she will fall behind. Besides computers are becoming a part of our everyday life. I think it comes down to teaching your children that there is a time and place for when you are using technology.

    Reply
  9. Jingyi Wang

    Scientists has done a lot of survey and tried to prove that technology has affect people’s happiness and well being, but the results seems to be quite confusing.
    While, according to my own experience, I think the technology has brought me lots of convience in my daily life. Since I am an international students , my family and most of my friends are in China, I don/t really have many oppotunities to talk to them face to face. The best and easiest way to get connected with them is to using online software. I will talk to my parents every week through online chatting software I can even see them through it. Because of the time difference between China and Canada, I will leave message to my friends, so that we can communicate. And I will post my photos and write mood diary on my blog, so my friends can get to know what I am doing and interact with my life. what’s more, you have to pay a lot of money for sending messages or giving a call to another country, but you only need to pay for the internet fee.
    I can only say that the technology may have affected some people’s life ,but to me it is a huge convience.

    Reply
  10. Matthew Malm

    After reading through this article, the only statement I can agree with is “the research has drawn more questions than answers”. Here is a one, how does a closed survey on a group of people who all share a common interest provide insight about a population? The first learning objective in statistical inference is the only way to get results that are accurate is to sample a large number of people without bias. Well this research does not satisfy any of those requirements and I have little to no confidence in the results.

    In terms of how technology is affecting development, I believe it is important that people root their happiness from what said person is passionate about. If playing in a virtual environment makes someone happy, who am I to say that’s not the “right kind of happiness”? I realize that face to face interaction is important but I also believe that, by default, people are expected to participate in social activities like school, work, and family obligations. Therefore, these people will be subjected to face to face interaction regardless of their activity choice. I also believe the majority of emotional development occurs at a point in a person’s life when they are unable to use technology, specifically in childhood. The author states that there is a lack of social cues in two dimensional conversations. However, there is writing cues in these kinds of conversations that are important to learn as well. It is an essential skill to understand the intention of another person’s writing to better understand their goals and objectives.

    Reply
  11. Jill

    While the results of the study do support my own personal view of technology (that overuse of technology creates more unhappiness), I am skeptical of the findings because the sample size was very small and there was not a fair representation of the number of different ethnicities, ages, socio-economic backgrounds, etcetera of the girls who responded. The authors only solicited the response of girls who read Discovery Magazine. Because of this, it appears that creators of the survey were biased, and manufactured the survey to achieve a desired result. However, I do agree that this study should lead to more research on how technology use affects happiness.

    A google search for “young girls instragram” displays links to blog posts such as “Is instragram actually hurting young girls?” or “Instagram Beauty contests can be harmful to girls.” These articles feature how a young girls’ self-worth is negatively impacted when she takes a picture of herself, posts it to Instagram and then determines her self-worth based on electronic responses of strangers. Over time, the girl values a stranger’s opinion more than she values the opinions of her own friends and family members. This suggests to me that the girl’s emotional development has been compromise because if she allows the opinion of strangers to impact her choices, instead of seeking advice from trusted friends and family members, she may be preventing herself from making empowered choices in the future.

    Reply
  12. Blake Bolton

    I believe that technology has the potential to negatively affect all young children, but is preventable with supervision. The problems faced by parents today are not fundamentally different than those faced by parents in the last century, who only had to deal with the television as a medium; it has become much more difficult to supervise children due to the greater access to outside influence. Access to information through technology has allowed young children to learn and mature at a pace unseen in previous generations, and it is the parents’ responsibility to filter that information for the well being of their children. Parents also need to regulate the amount of time spent with these new devices alongside the content. As mentioned in the article, children need to learn social cues and behavior from human interaction that cannot be recreated through current technology. A child who is solely raised through these new mediums would most likely be very intelligent, but have difficulty interacting in social situations.
    I would not place too much confidence in the findings of this study. Due to the method of information gathering, they have no idea who was actually responding to the survey. In a statistic I can’t recall at this time, it was stated that a number of girls in that age category on the internet are actually grown men; and one can only guess as to their state of mind and how that would skew the data. This data should not be completely disregarded, it does shine a light on potential issues and paves the way for further study.

    Reply
  13. Rongxiang Zhang

    Different girls have been influenced by technology differently. Some girls’ reports show the more time they spend online, the less happiness they feel. Reasons are vary. One reason is online communication makes body language, facial and verbal cues invisible so that people that girls chatting with could not get girls’ emotions. Another reason is girls who spend most of time on seeking online relationship because they might not like social life in real world. Thus, these girls feel unhappy about social life when compared to online relationships. However, there are some reports showing that online communication enriches social life as they communicate with friends immediately and have more access to the world.
    I feel the same thing with this finding that technology affects happiness and emotional development. When the time that cell phones, PCs, and the Internet were not very popular, I spent most time with my family and friends. When I chatted with my friends at that time, we felt we had a lot of things to share with each other. And we used to write letters to the friend who is in another city or country. I still remember the feeling that I was waiting for a letter in reply. I was excited and happy when I got my letters. Nowadays, most of things are changed. I found I and friend have less topics to share. When we miss each other, we just send a message or make a call. There is no more joy of waiting for reply. Therefore, I feel technology affect my happiness.

    Reply
  14. Songxuan Wu

    According to the survey, these girls who are between 8 to 12 years old would feel unhappiness because they spend less time on social communication. With the technology development, Internet has been a necessary tool in the life. Internet not only provides convenience, it also gives people a place which is virtual world. When people do not want to face with pressure from real world, the virtual world is an excellent place to avoid. For me, I enjoy the benefits of technology development and I can’t image if I don’t use Internet. Using Skype to contact my parents and friends and check messages are my part of daily. When I heard good news from my parents and friends, I would feel happiness. Even though I also spend much time on Internet and purchase many technology products, I still believe that most people all undergo the effect of technology development and enjoy this process. People how to feel happiness from technology depend on how to accurately use technology. For example, a digital painting board can solve repeated modify for painter during the production process, and student easily search their academic information from Internet. These positive and effective technology usages make people feel happiness by their full satisfaction. If people just use technology to waste time, they would feel more loneliness and dissatisfaction. Technology cannot satisfy all the needs for human such as face to face communication, so people who live in virtual world should touch to the real world and feel fresher things by themselves.

    Reply
  15. Hailin Wu

    I agree the saying “everything has two swords”. If there is no Internet or media platform like this “wordpress” blog, we would not be able to discuss these events here. I do believe that technology affect our happiness and well being because of the way we live now. Biologically, the factor that controls our brains to produce an emotion reaction varies but all results in the changes of hormone. Feelings follow actions. All the things that emerge the dopa-mine will make us happy and the nature to be survive in our blood drive us to maintain the things we like or love. Because technology improves our living conditions, makes us feel happy, the human body secrets dopa-mine to make us be addicted to it. Thus, technology meets human wants and needs. Therefore, I think this studies finding is partial confidential because of lack of detail information.

    From the vision of anthropology and sociology, in the ancient time, we like sweet food is because it makes us survive, because sugar makes our human bodies comfortable and safe, because we need glucose for cellular respiration. This is similar to the all the substances we approach today, for example, kitchen tools cooking convenient, automobile makes transportation convenient, computers make searching convenient – all those conveniences are, literally, “technologies”. Using technology to live better will definitely be a trend in today’s modern society. Although it will has detrimental effects on many aspects, especially “kid” problems, kid will grow up anyway, and technology will only be developed more and more sharply and “ridiculously”. If we cannot avoid it, why not accept it generously and apply it as properly as we can.

    Reply
  16. Regi Rocha

    I do not know a lot about education, psychology or gender studies, but I do believe that technology is affecting happiness and emotional development in good and bad ways. In good ways because technology is bringing people together; you can have friends and family all over the world and be close to them through technology. It affects people in bad ways as well, like the girls in this study who spend more time on line and say they are less happy with themselves and not comfortable in social situations. If they are on line a lot and not in real life how will they learn to be happy with themselves and comfortable in different social situations. Technology can be used for some social relationships, but unless you are face to face with a person you can miss a lot of emotional development. Maybe these girls lost skills because they spend too much time on line and not enough time in the real world.
    I do not have much confidence in the findings of this study. It was an online study and for that reason you cannot check up on the people actually taking the study. Someone who could be much older or even male could have pretended to be a girl and answered the questions. Also, girls could answer many times and that would make the study look like it had a better response than it actually did. Even though this study was done by a well-known University it is not a very good study and that makes the findings not strong.

    Reply
  17. Calvin Chu

    Yes technology does affecting our happiness and emotional development. As technology is getting better and better, it is very convenient and fun. Everyone love and spend tons of time on network, computer games, cell phones, texting each other.etc. As you can do lots with technology now, some people would not live without technology stuffs and I consider myself is one of them. I remember I got my first cell phone in my life was in grade8. However, It is really common now that kids have a smartphone with them when they are 5 years old. Some might feel upset and unfair if they do not have a smartphone with them. It will affect your real live if they spend too much time on technology. Technology allows people to type instead of face to face communication. Therefore, our communication skill won’t get any better. As the time past, they might lose the skills how to communicate with people face to face and they will feel lonely. Moreover, many people spend tons of time on online games every day. We will feel good and amazing when we win a game but in the opposite, we will feel angry or bad when we lose a game. It can really turn your moon from good to bad instantly.
    No, I do not have confidence on this studies finding. When I was young, I spent tons of time on screens. Because of that, my social skills never improve and I felt nervous whenever I have to talk with people who I don’t know. As I grow up, as my major is management too. I understand that I have to practice more on real socializing to not feel nervous anymore in front of people. I improve a bit but still I spend more time on screens than socializing even now as it is hard to change.

    Reply
  18. Litchi Peng

    Technology is very convenient and fun, that is why many people like to spend lot of time in playing computers or cellphones. Especially, nowadays, ipads or smartphones are very common. They are easy to carry and easy to use. They are fairly popular in these days. Some people probably would not live without these technology stuffs. They may feel anxious or grumpy when they do not take their smartphones or ipads. As I know, when they are with these technology products, they are satisfied and happy. However, people spend too much time with cellphones or computers, it influences their real lives. They only feel comfortable when they are in a virtual world. As time goes by, they probably lose the skills how to communicate with people face to face. They may have difficulties in some socializing. It has a bad influence on developing their emotions. These people may have not enough confidence to communicate with people, and they perhaps feel lonely in an actual world. I think this study is very interesting. I have confidence in this studies finding. As a young people, I also face this this kind of problem in my life. I am so addicted in these technologies. Many people think cellphone is my boyfriend since if I do not take it with me, I will be upset. I am interested in this study because it is relates to my own life. I think it’s easy for me to identify a objective and collect some information and analyze the information.

    Reply
  19. Carlie Willimont

    These young girls are experiencing unhappiness and emotional seclusion much like many young girls experience. However technology in this study and in others has been shown to increase the risk factors in emotional development I don’t think we can blame it all on technology. Yes the number of hours spent in front of the screen is large and exceptionally larger than it has been in the past. But does this mean that young girls are unhappy because of the time they spend on using technology, no I don’t think so. I believe there are numerous factors that can be associated with young girls feeling unhappy, sad, emotional unattached, depressed or lonely.

    I find the study extremely interesting and hope to see more research in the future. However I don’t find the results of this study to be significant and am therefore no confident in it. The lack of participants and most importantly lack of knowledge about the participants make me weary of the results. I think its extremely important to look into the social determinants of health in correlation with the participants to uncover better results. Knowing very little about the conditions these young girls live in makes it impossible to believe that technology is the reason for their emotional issues. I believe it was touched on very briefly in the study connecting parents media use and the child’s however that isn’t enough to support the results.

    Reply
  20. Nathan Duncan

    Technology has reduced the ability for girls between the ages of 8-12 years of age to interact face to face to a level that has been seen in the past. This is mainly due to the overall lack of face to face communication and increase in texting, and video chat. This is somewhat disturbing when looking at it at a mass scale and in the future what will our children and grandchildren s social skills be like when communicating face to face? Will their emotions be the same as ours today when they are our age or will we see something completely different?

    I feel that this study solidifies other research on this field. It really only makes sense…if one is to not do lots of something (face to face communication) as was done in the past they will not be as skilled or good at it. This lack of skill is not the child’s fault but the blame of this whole problem arising stems back to the people who are supposed to be taking care of the child…the parents. These findings should start to become warnings to potential future problems with our children and youth. Some kind of preventative measures should be taken. Technology is supposed to make our everyday lives easier….if it stops doing that such as in this case it must be altered to once again achieve that task which may cost a lot of money and take a lot of time.

    Reply
  21. Sean Annis

    I think that girls between 8 and 12 who spend way more time on a technological devise rather than playing with physical toys or participating in sports are setting themselves up for a high level of unhappiness than normal. I am a firm believer that physical exercise and especially high functioning team sports are of benefit to one’s social life and to their self esteem. I think that the interaction of children between 8 and 12 is redundant anyway. Girls this age do not have jobs, they shouldn’t have any real relationships and it’s most likely these girls are talking to the same friends that they have at school. I do not see why these girls do not go outside and play with other girls their age. Also since the meaning of words can be lost due to the two dimensionality of this communication, this can cause issues. Since these girls are very young, it is likely they do not rationalize that what they are reading may be intended to mean something else. SO since these girls are very social but can cause miscommunication through two dimensional messages, i would expect there to be issues between these girls and therefore, less happy.

    Although the findings were very weak and there was no way to be statistically confident if the findings, i think the correlation between the girl’s happiness and time spent using technology is very interesting and very much worth further exploration. Me being a young adult, i expect to be having children in the not so distant future and would not want to let my daughter grow up unhappy because she spent too much time using technology.

    Reply
  22. Brad Melchin

    By spending too much time in front of a screen, these girls don’t completely learn real communication skills and how to interact with people outside of the virtual world. Like the article says, while in front of a screen or through texting it is impossible to pick up on facial reactions and body language, which is important when communicating. This hinders emotional development, because not only are the girls not able to pick up on how the person they are talking to is feeling, but they also may not know how to emotionally express themselves. It is easy to find happiness through socializing with friends, and getting to know people. By staring at a screen and using technology to communicate, these girls are missing out on this happiness. I find great joy in socializing with friends, and being someone who must use technology on a daily basis, I can honestly say that technology does make me less happy at times.

    Even though it is hard to find this study credible because of their poorly performed online survey, I wouldn’t accept this particular study. However, being someone who can relate to this article, I would say that even though the survey was poor that their results were accurate. From the age of 13-17 I was a heavy technology user. Like many in this study, I too had a hard time communicating with people face to face and my emotional development wasn’t utilized to its full potential. I became socially awkward until I was able to break that technology addiction and actually go out to socialize with people.

    Reply
  23. Kristina Madarasz

    No I do not have confidence in the findings of this study on whether technology affects happiness and well being. The study does not accurately represent the population because, as the article says, “3,400 girls, a sample that may well not be representative of the larger population and, because the responses are self-reported, are not subject to follow-up or verification by the researchers.” This basically says that the results can’t be trusted because the results are biased since the researchers left out important parts of the population, like males and the working class. I would have more confidence in the data if people were selected at random for the survey in all formats such as, online, face to face, phone etc… And like the article says, “the research raises as many questions as it seeks to answer, as the scientists readily acknowledge.” So really, the only thing that is evident from this article is that the research was not properly executed. I think there is some merit here and that further research should be conducted if all groups were chosen for further study at random.

    Therefore, we shouldn’t actually interpret these results because they are not accurate. The article even says that they were unable to answer the question they were after. However, If you could trust anything in this article, I would agree that not having face to face interaction with people could greatly affect things like confidence and social skills, therefore slowing your development that may hinder you once you reach the workforce. Not having these social skills and being able to make it in the workforce could then have greater affects on your life like unemployment. This would then directly affect a person’s well being.

    Reply
  24. Xinying Du

    Technology affects Happiness and wellbeing. There are so many friends that they use computer all the time. Some of them always play computer games, especially male. They use too much time on it. When they lose, they feel very angry; when they win, they feel happy. Computer games are virtually. Virtual things affect people’s mood. When people use technology, they feel like in a virtual world. Technology affects friendships. People use a lot of time watching movies, listening music or chatting on line instead of going out with friends. The communication mode between friends becomes using technology to connect to each other. Technology is part of people’s lives now. We cannot leave without technology. Technology also makes us feel lonely. The time that we hang out with friends is lesser now. All most everyone attracted by technology. Lacking of communication among people make us disconnect with each other. Technology is also bad for our health. It is bad for our eyes because we watch the screen all the time. It is bad for our body because we always use technology for a long time. People who use technology for a long time make them tired and out of spirits. Then we cannot deny that technology affects our lives. People know that there is not so good to use technology, but they still feel a lot of fun to push them to keep use it. I think people should use less technology. They can use time to talk with their friends or do something meaningful.

    Reply
  25. Victoria Wells

    While the general idea surrounding the results sounds conclusive, I have little confidence in the study itself. The main reason? There is a huge bias in the format of the study. The bias is that the research was pulled from an online survey! The purpose of this study was to assess “whether the heavy use of media was the cause for…unhappiness” and to gauge “whether girls who are less happy to begin with are drawn to heavy use of media, in effect retreating to a VIRTUAL WORLD” and yet they were unable to answer these questions! Researchers only gained information from girls who were online! There was no control group or results that were pooled from a different source (such as face-to-face). This bias then causes the results to favour the idea that unhappiness in girls is caused by heavy media usage! What is there to compare to? The data cannot be seen as a major source for conclusions on the topic due to the fact that holds a large bias!
    In addition, the small sample size and the fact that answers are self-reported also taint the data. The small sample size cannot represent the larger and more general “girl” of today. As well, self-reporting answers are not necessarily accurate due to perceptual biases in the responders. Overall, the study should be used as an introduction into the idea that heavy usage of media can have a detrimental effect on young girls, but further research needs to be completed before we can start basing any solid conclusions on the topic.

    Reply
  26. Kai Zhao

    The more time they spend on screens, the less time they spend on real social communicating. Therefore, these girls who are between 8 to 12 years old would probably get less chances to improve their real life skills. According to this article, over 3,400 girls are taken as sample, but because of the standard deviation, it cannot represent the large population. However, it still reflects that the heavy use of media has a negative affect on young peers’ growth. They cannot deal with a virtual world. By the end of this article, there is a quotation says, “people may not understand how others feel because they cannot see the emotion in their faces and cannot hear their voices.” Hence, this technology has a negative affect on their happiness and emotional development.
    I have confidence in this studies finding. When I was younger, I spent as many hours on screens as I can, and because of that, I was bad at social skills, I felt pessimistic when I was off media, and I even got addicted. As I was growing up, I realized I should spend more time on real socializing. My parents were exactly like those parents from this article, they concerned about this issue so much back to years ago. Now, I can pick up on subtle social cues in face-to-face interactions since I purposely increased my social life these recent years. Thus, I have confidence that this studies finding is most likely appeal the existing problems of young peers.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

