Siri transforms the new Apple TV

Description:  No matter how many times I ask Apple TV’s Siri for shows starring   “Bea Arthur,” it only hears “be Arthur.”

Source: money.cnn.com

Date: Nov 3, 2015

images
http://i.cdn.turner.com/money/.element/script/7.0/players/embed.js?videoid=/video/technology/2015/11/02/hands-on-new-apple-tv-burke.cnnmoney

Siri is one of the new Apple TV’s most important features. It can stumble over proper names (“Keanu” took multiple tries but it nailed “Fassbender”), and Apple has saddled it with some key limitations. But ultimately, Siri is a neat way to surf TV.

In addition to the Siri upgrade, the new gadget includes a fancy touchpad remote control, beautiful interface and an all new app store. Apple (AAPLTech30) calls it the “future” of television.

The product upgrade, the first in three years, is a huge leap forward for Apple. And after spending a few days watching TV (for journalism), I think it’s very much the TV of our time.  Read Rest of Story 

 Questions for discussion:

1.  Are you an Apple TV user? Why or why not?

2. Does this product look like something you would adopt? Why or Why not?

3.  What do you think the chances are for success with this product?  Dexribe

113 thoughts on “Siri transforms the new Apple TV

  1. Sean Roberts

    1. Are you an Apple TV user? Why or why not?
    Yes I am an apple TV user mainly for the reason that my grandmother has it at her house and that is where I live. Although if i did not live with my grandma I would seriously consider it because it integrates well with most of the technology I have and has many useful applications on it, most of all Netfilx.
    2. Does this product look like something you would adopt? Why or Why not?
    I have already currently adopted it because I use it mostly every day. Even if I wasn’t, like I said before, I would adopt it mainly for the reason that it works well with much of the technology I already use. Whether it is my apple watch, mac, or Iphone I can control things like Netflix on my TV from any one of those devices. Especially since I can never find the TV remote, but I always have my iphone, it makes life just a little bit easier.
    3. What do you think the chances are for success with this product? Describe
    This product has a huge chance for success with the direction our society is moving. Technology is becoming a important facet, if it isn’t already, of everyone’s lives, and with an established company like apple, taking advantage of this opportunity won’t be difficult. A large amount of the population uses apple whether its their Iphone or mac, and whenever apple comes out with new products they usually market them well enough to have the average consumer adopt the idea

    Reply
  2. Gray.yu

    1. Are you an Apple TV user? Why or why not?
    No, because Apple TV is not popular in China ,There are many more cost-effective TV in China.
    Ok the key reason is that I dont have so much money to pay for an apple TV,

    2. Does this product look like something you would adopt? Why or Why not?
    No ,because although apple TV is very smart ,it just have a siri than other smart TV. Siri is good ,but I dont think Im so lazy to just want to control TV by world. It means I don’t want to spend more 40 dollar to buy this service. And Chinese smart dont need to pay for some channels, Its more cost -effective for consumers ,I think.

    3. What do you think the chances are for success with this product? Dexribe
    I dont think the chances are for success with this product, but it’s not mean it is not a product. It just need to be design more profect. As we can see there still are some palce not meet our needs ,like the new Apple TV remote, It is obvious that the remote is not designed humanized, maybe it due to the first use of it, people who was used to use the traditional TV remote can’t adopt this remote. So we need a transition to apple ,or a great humanized new apple TV remote to change people’s habit of using remote. But not this one obviously.

    Reply
  3. Rahul Ramesh

    1. Are you an Apple TV user? Why or why not?
    No I am not a Apple TV user. Most of the Programs broadcasted in networks on TV are available on streaming services like Netflix, Hulu and shomi. News channels offer live updates to news and weather on their websites. Hence the need for an Apple TV is not required.

    2. Does this product look like something you would adopt? Why or Why not?
    Apple TV does not offer enough advantages to a customer to switch from his/her TV or Computer to viewing media on an Apple TV. It actually is more of a hassle to switch, it is more expensive, needs a cable connection, and needs the user to pay for all the applications in the TV itself. This product definitely needs some more years to be more developed to gain a higher product demand value, if it is continued.
    3. What do you think the chances are for success with this product? Dexribe
    There is definetely a low chance of success rate with this product. Assome competitors like roku offer the same service for a cheaper price and even more features like not being restricted to a certain number of applications. The output of this technology can be achieved at the same efficiency and less of a hassle by using an HDMI cable and connecting it to your TV .

    Reply
  4. Miriam

    1. Are you an Apple TV user? Why or why not? Yes I am an Apple TV user. I use Apple TV because not only is it easy to use, it allows you to do so much with such a little device. It allows you to watch netflix, watch youtube videos and allows you to connect your phone to the Apple TV and you can show a slide show of pictures from a vacation you just went on, or show everyone your new favourite song.

    2. Does this product look like something you would adopt? Why or Why not? Yes I do think this is a product I would adopt because of how efficient and effective it is and how it doesn’t clutter up the space around the TV. No one likes looking at a lot of boxes and cables sticking out from everywhere.

    3. What do you think the chances are for success with this product? Describe.
    I do think that this product will be successful, just as many of the most recent apple products have been. Many people buy apple products because they know they are reliable and that everyone has them. I think it will branch out into many new opportunities for Apple when it is successful.

    Reply
  5. Leon Mella

    1. Are you an Apple TV user? Why or why not?
    I am not an apple TV user as its premium and content are not worth the payment. Also Apple TV is something more geared towards people who have and use apple products. Although the idea itself is a nice thought and good product Apple itself is not worth the brand in my opinion. Apple TV itself is user friendly but not an open access server that I usually prefer.
    2. Does this product look like something you would adopt? Why or Why not?
    I would not adopt this as its is both A expensive and still in its first introduction. It being in its first release i feel as though its nowhere close to a product worth buying as there are most likely still a lot of bugs and many more add ons they are developing or wanting to implement that just aren’t possible in this phase of its product Life. Also as many other students have said Netflix and other streaming options are always available.
    3. What do you think the chances are for success with this product? Describe
    This early on the product will only have success with early adopters and no one else. If it really does have a good service it should be able to grow. However I Myself have not seen any advertisements for it or anything promoting this service so again I believe it won’t see much success until later years

    Reply
  6. Kathryn Yost

    1. Are you an Apple TV user? Why or why not?

    Not an apple TV user but I do have an IPhone does that count I hope so. Either way if I had more time I would totally watch more TV.
    2. Does this product look like something you would adopt? Why or Why not?

    Again, Apple products are just not a huge attraction to me, so probably not. My current system works perfect for netflix, ted-talks, etc and if I have a question, I type it in my laptop (rather than asking siri). As for a touchpad remote, I would need to see big improvements in durability. It’s the kids who are running the TV more than me and they would have a touchpad remote destroyed in no time flat.

    3. What do you think the chances are for success with this product? Describe.

    I think the product will have sweeping success with its apple followers; they seem to be a loyal bunch. Streaming on-demand entertainment seems to be the way to go, over cable or satellite, for both cost, convenience and choice.

    Reply
  7. Marilou D

    No, currently I am not an Apple TV user, but I love watching tv (tv shows, series…) so if I could afford it I would buy it for sure. In addition, one of my friend has one and I found the innovations really enjoyable and useful such as the siri feature, but the most important feature to me would be that I could watch TV shows from my homeland France because of the internet connection. It would be such a pleasure to watch french movie again. Honestly, I find Canadian program too stupid or too serious that I watch 3 channels on my current TV.
    I think this product will be successful too because the previous Apple TV have already seen great success so why not this time again? The only problem to me with this new kind of television is that it is too costly and there is no advertising about it. I heard of it a long time ago but it was just whisperers and I find it uninteresting because i didn’t know what this TV could bring to me. It is only when I saw the Apple TV at my friend’s house that I liked it and wanted it.

    Reply
  8. Jaylen Korver

    1. Are you an Apple TV user? Why or why not?
    I am not an Apple TV user. I have nothing Apple, and don’t expect to buy anything Apple anytime soon, so Apple TV would be a waste for me. The concept is neat, but there are already comparable products out there that would be available for me.
    2. Does this product look like something you would adopt? Why or Why not?
    Not an Apple TV, but I might get something like the Google Chromecast so I could use it without having to become an Apple fanboy. I hardly ever watch cable, except for live shows and sporting events, and spend more time watching YouTube and occasionally Netflix, which are more accessible on my computer.
    3. What do you think the chances are for success with this product? Dexribe
    I think this product will do well with Apple people. They got to have everything Apple, so adding this to their collection is a no-brainer. (Half-kidding). I think this type of product in general would do well, as people would want to watch their shows from Netflix, Hulu, etc. on the big screen. Even to be able to watch videos taken off their phones on their TV’s via AirPlay would be an advantage.

    Reply
  9. jessica dexter

    1. Yes I am a user of apple TV. My boyfriend has an apple tv and we use it all of the time. Apple tv is great because it has a selection of movies and shows that netflix does not have. The only struggle with apple tv is that you have to pay for movies every time you want to watch them, where as netflix has a lump sum payment per month. We don’t mind paying for movies because we usually have i tunes money.
    2. Yes this product looks like something I would adopt because it will be more efficient and faster, once all the bugs are worked out. Another reason for adopting this product would be the fact that it is user friendly.
    3. I think this product has a high chance for success because apple has a strong reputation to uphold. I also think this product will be successful because home theater is becoming more popular and people are looking for devices where they can play netflix and shomi without leaving their house.

    Reply
  10. Brian Kemp

    1. No, I stream most of my content and use the web to grab news information I need. I don’t really need another device to put me back where I was with cable… I was paying a premium and honestly most shows have approximately 25% advertising… No thanks.
    2. I would not adopt this product because once again, I don’t really need a “apple tv” and to me the idea of TV is just soured to begin with. I mean I really want to watch TV to relax and take a load off not to be repetitively told what to purchase ever 8 minutes until I become some sort of walking zombie of consumerism. Its almost like the plot for a bad movie. So once again no thanks.
    3. The chances for success are slim I think. So basically it’s a box that makes your tv a watered down ipad. What sounds successful about that? I think we live in an age where a lot of people have already connected a pc to their tv. It provides limitless functionality and it doesn’t require me to purchase a 150$ box. Sure this might have been a great idea ten years ago, but I think apple has dropped the bomb on this one. Apple if you want to give us apple tv, its gonna have to be free and pushed out on new tvs as part of the package.

    Reply
  11. Graydon Burbnk

    1. Are you an Apple TV user? Why or why not?
    I am an Apple Tv user, but not necessarily for the programs and shows they offer, but moreso because the product integrates easily with the products that I currently have from apple such as my Iphone, Macbook and ipod. Apple tv allows me to control and use features with my Iphone as the remote with takes away the annoying and sometimes weirdly hard process of finding the remote, making sure it is working properly and not losing it so you can use it for next time. Yes, those sound like simple things, but the ability to use my iphone as a remote for my apple tv makes it much easier and seamless to use it and its features. The problem with apple tv for me personally is the restrictions it has on which apps and features it has. To solve this problem I also own a ROKU 3, which is a great device similar to an apple tv but without so many restrictions, I am able to use my phone as a remote as well by downloading the app onto my iphone but it isn’t as responsive as I would like. I do find myself using my apple tv more often than not though simply because it has Netflix and works well with my iphone.
    2. Does this product look like something you would adopt? Why or Why not?
    I would definitely use this product, it seems like it would be very easy to use and it seems to cut out the problems that the old versions of apple tv had, such as the ability to voice search as opposed to typing in your show letter by letter. I think that this product, although slightly more expensive would be easy to learn for both new apple tv users and seasoned apple tv users. I will be looking into purchasing this product for sure!

    Reply
  12. Emily Dawkins

    1. Are you an Apple TV user? Why or why not?
    No I am not an Apple TV user. I have a Macbook and IPhone but no desire to get the Apple TV. With Netflix, online streaming and TV channel options through various TV packages it does not seem useful to me buy such an expensive product that does not give a substantial amount of benefit.
    2. Does this product look like something you would adopt? Why or Why not?
    At this point in time, this product does not seem like something I will adopt. The main reason at this point is that I cannot afford and will not be able to afford it on a university budget. At the same time, I personally prefer non traditional TV methods. As well, I would prefer to spend that kind of money on essential needs not luxury items.
    3. What do you think the chances are for success with this product? Describe
    I think this product has the potential to be successful because Apple as a company is very successful because of them specializing their products. However, I cannot see this product being as successful as their iPhones, iPods and MacBooks. As time goes on, people may adapt and begin purchases them more but at the moment, I cannot see the Apple TV having a massive impact on the market.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

